top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSusan T. Evans

It could have happened anywhere, but for me it was Ireland.

This post is about what daily-life things happened while we were living outside the US. None of these are because we are in Ireland; but they happened while we were.


Back living in campus housing


It's been a while since we lived in university housing - as in not since our 1983-1985 stint in a garden apartment in Whipple Park at the University of Rochester.


Here, for four weeks, we've had a bungalow at NUIG's Corrib Village. My pre-travel expectations about our Galway housing could not have been lower. As it turned out, the three-bedroom bungalow was at least 75% better than I anticipated.



I did ignore a lot of things while in our Ireland bungalow.


When you're in temporary housing, you don't remove all the spider webs or clean the windows. And you certainly don't touch the vine growing in from the outside.


So creepy - Larry and I both knew it was there but we didn't talk about it. Donna, you're right; it is reminiscent of Little Shop of Horrors. Yes, Val, it seems predatory.







Drinking freeze-dried


I brought a small french press and some coffee in my suitcase. You don't arrive anywhere without a coffee plan.


I ran out of the good stuff a few days ago, and I've been drinking the no-brand, freeze-dried stuff that came with the bungalow. I know, doesn't sound like me.


Every day, my walks end (or begin) with finding good coffee. Making do in the morning is a small sacrifice, and perhaps not worth writing about.




Going without Hulu


We spent zero time watching TV. Full disclosure, we couldn't get to Hulu or HBO while in Ireland. When you see us back in the US, don't tell us anything about Big Little Lies or Handmaid's Tale. We're way behind.


This TV has such a sad, little look to it anyway, right?










Putting people in the photos

Larry and I are bad at selfies. Because my arms are too short to get both heads into the shot?


Usually, our selfies are better when we look at each other and not at the camera. Yet while in Ireland, our couple selfies improved! Here's proof of their evolution.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page